A humble abode

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My abode is my hideaway. The place I find peace and the ability to live freely.

A one bedroom loft in the heart of Downtown Roanoke (Garden & Gun had a great write-up on this southern city, read more here) I stumbled upon this building and it was love at first sight.

Upon moving in I knew that this could be considered as a blank palette and I was up for the challenge. Living solo for the first time in my 23 years was exhilarating, and this was my chance to make this apartment my studio.

As mentioned in a prior post, I have always been a fan of making my own artwork versus purchasing things to display. I do have several pieces that I couldn’t live without, but art should be something you fall in love with, not something you buy to cover a blank patch on the wall.

I adore Audrey Hepburn, and this pencil sketch was done during the summer of my Junior year at Roanoke College. The other is a couple that I was inspired by from a photo in a magazine during my Senior year of High School.

The first photo with my family dog, Finnlay, gives you all as viewers an idea of the size. The others display the work themselves, and show that they are a vital part of my gallery wall in my living room. Many of the frames on the gallery wall were found at flea markets, and close out sales, so this is something you can easily make on your own!

Pencil is by far my favorite passion and these pieces take longer than others to make, but they can be treasured and fit with any home, studio, office, etc.

I do hope you enjoy, and feel free to contact me with any questions about artwork, design, or to just send love notes about my sweet husky, Charlee girl!

Leave a Reply

